Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

What kind of winds can these fly in?

Hilander

Reaction score
I downloaded a UAV forecast map and wanted to take my X Star Premium out today and said I was good to go. Yet with 15 mph winds and 25 mph gusts it said it was ok. Wouldn't she be a bear to keep steady? Is this app a reliable tools to use? Thanks

I'm relatively new to drones. What I have found is that flying in winds greater that 10/15mph isn't that hard but landing is. In wind I try to take off and land close to a something that blocks the wind. Sometimes I use my vehical to make a wind block, or an area of trees that block the wind. But mostly above 12ish mph I just don't fly.

I look at it this way: one bad crash and my drone flying Is over. I can't afford to replace this thing so I'm a little over cautious perhaps.

If it is gusting 25 yes it will not be to steady. It will though handle it but your battery will not last as long trying to fight the wind. If you go down wind remember it takes a lot more battery power to come back fighting the wind. I would not try to fly in close quarters of buildings as the wind could slam you into one.

Reactions: Hilander
I'm relatively new to drones. What I have found is that flying in winds greater that 10/15mph isn't that hard but landing is. In wind I try to take off and land close to a something that blocks the wind. Sometimes I use my vehical to make a wind block, or an area of trees that block the wind. But mostly above 12ish mph I just don't fly.

I look at it this way: one bad crash and my drone flying Is over. I can't afford to replace this thing so I'm a little over cautious perhaps.

I live in the middle of a corn field this year with about an acre of clear takeoff space. Afraid if I do something stupid and it goes in the cornfield finding it will be hard.