Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Thoughts for New Buyers Coming from DJI

LeafPeeper

Reaction score
So I've had my Evo for a little over a month now, and thought I'd share a few thoughts for others who may be considering the purchase and coming from DJI.

I've been flying DJI Mavic Pros and a Spark for about 3 years now and got my Part 107 last year. What initially drew me to the Evo was the camera. I loved the look of videos straight from cam - the dynamic range, the color science, and of course, 4K 60fps. I also loved the idea of the OLED screen and FPV view without the phone. Lastly, DJI's strict geofencing is only now starting to annoy me. That said, owning the Evo has been a mixed bag so far.

The camera. The 4K 60fps is awesome. The color science and dynamic range are awesome. The barrel distortion, not so much. While my Mavics tend to overexpose and blow out whites, the stills look fabulous after a little tweaking. I generally don't like the Evo stills because as the horizon approaches the top, the barrel distortion becomes VERY obvious. I can fix it in post, but I still don't like it. I also don't find the stills as crisp as I can get with my Mavics. On the other hand, the 4K video straight from the cam are much better with the Evo (as long as you keep the horizon away from the top of the frame). They are crisper, and generally have fewer obvious compression artifacts. I attribute this to the Evo's higher bitrate.