Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Torn between Autel Evo Lite+ and DJI Air 3

PaJimmyJam

Reaction score
I usually don't post on forums because I'm bad a responding, but i thought I'd give this a shot, and I'll make a point to stay updated.

I recently lost my Evo Lite+ in a stupid incident of not paying attention to wind conditions. I had no problems flying out over the ocean, but returning home was at a snails pace, and my drone fell into the abyss... now I'm trying to decide if I should move to DJI or stay with Autel. I have been flying drones for over 8 years. When talking about pro-sumer drones, I have only owned Autel, and my experience has been really fantastic. My first real drone was the X-Star Premium, and that was truly amazing. I sold that a couple years back, and took a break from flying.

What brought be back was the right price. I purchased the costco premium bundle at a really great price $900 with tax. I had my Lite+ for almost 8 months, and it was truly amazing. The pictures were fantastic (I love photography, so video is a second thought) the flights were always easy / smooth, and batteries accurately lasted around 35 min or more. As everyone notes, there are small quarks with Autel and their software, but that's all I've ever known.

The same deal is currently being offered at Costco, but I'm torn. Am I missing anything by never flying DJI? I'm really worried about all the negative talk regarding geo-fencing and having issues when trying to fly. I always adhere to local laws and use the b4ufly app before I fly.

I am really torn between getting the Evo Lite+ again since i have all the batteries and accessories, and whether I should give DJI a chance with their Air 3. Best buy has a refurbished flymore bundle with display in remote for $1,270, so it's substantially more expensive.

Hopefully you can give me a little guidance and your experiences with both Autel and DJI. Thanks!

Reactions: nhwhelehan