Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Nano+ White Balance Issue

RobertB

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am an experienced real estate photographer and very familiar with white balance. When using my traditional camera gear, I don't have much issue getting my white balance correct. I capture images using "raw" (DNG) exposures and edit in Lightroom. My method works fine for everything except when I shoot with my Nano+. I am having a really tough time getting WB the correct. With the Nano+, I am shooting 3 exposure brackets with auto-exposure. I process the bracketed exposures with Lightroom's HDR engine. But even if I process just one exposure, the results are equally undesired.

The three dng files from the Nano+ are available from the link below. My resulting edited image, and a ground based fully edited image are attached for comparison.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 3 exposures with LR HDR and adjustments.jpg
    3 exposures with LR HDR and adjustments.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 9
  • Nikon DSLR.jpg
    Nikon DSLR.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 8
Last edited:
Is this your first drone? I don't think you have as much a WB problem as you do an image that is lower quality than you expected. If this is your first drone then that would explain why you think it should look better. The Nano+ has a camera sensor that is smaller than most cell phones, so what you are perceiving as a WB issue is actually a bit depth deficiency as well as possibly some RYYB sensor color deficiencies. I have shot plenty of real estate myself and I would never use the Nano for that type of work, not if you want your footage to appeal to higher end clients, its sensor is just too small. With such a small sensor, the image will degrade further if you try to use HDR brackets with it. I stick to a single well exposed raw image and post process it normally in LR. with the EVO II Pro.