Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Waypoint and timelapse (hyperlapse) issues

Slugman

Reaction score
Hello:

I have 30 years experience shooting film time-lapse. I bought the EVO hoping to shoot "moving" time-lapse that they now call "hyperlapse".

The problem I was encountering was how to shoot a straight line of path and keep the speed as slow as possible and control the time-lapse intervals along with exposure control.

I have tried manually shooting moving images (trying to hold the joysticks during time-lapse). I have also let the EVO sit still and shoot in time-lapse mode.

No matter what I do..time-lapse is not giving me clean and stable images.

The last method was to use the "mission" mode. I tried a "straight line" way point and also the "rectangle" mode. I told the EVO to fly straight line at 2.2 mph time-lapse at 2fps. Also did not worry about exposure using auto. The play back of the .jpg images was shaky. I used stabilizing filters in premiere and it still looks really bad. I have emailed Autel about shooting professional time-lapse drone footage. They told me they are working on it. There is a lot of potential for imagery like this if it can be stable.

Just hoping for a solution. I will keep working on the SDK pack and other options to make this happen for us all.

Reactions: Dave.mp4
I think it’s a shame Autel doesn’t come out with a solution for quality time lapse.
The “Coming soon” message became a joke.
This excellent drone is flying great but without the extra option uses for this great camera, it became a toy for kids..
Come on Autel!!
I bought this drone for professional photography.
Dji Mavic 3 is here soon and you’re still dealing with fixing firmware updates.

I think it’s a shame Autel doesn’t come out with a solution for quality time lapse.
The “Coming soon” message became a joke.