Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Question on max operating ceiling.

PoqFFEMTP

Reaction score
So I have a question for the masses. Not looking to start a fight or a throw down but this is just meant to enlighten and provoke some thought(s)

I'm a licensed -107 pilot for my job as a Paramedic/Firefighter. We use several drones in our fleet for various purposes, mostly for USAR as well as incident/damage surveying. We exclusively operate closer to the ground so that's why I ask this question. Now that I'm finally getting a drone for hobby purposes, I'm looking to expand my views and knowledge of drone use(s) for other purposes.

So why, when Autel updated the maximum AGL to around 1600ft does everyone freak out? Why and when does anyone have a need to fly that high?

Again, serous question. Just looking to see how everyone else thinks.

Because some of us like to take shot of mountain ranges and don't want to be limited by software. I'm a part 107 holder as well, and this is a total deal breaker. Period. Canceling my Evo II preorder. This is not how I want to fly. I don't need a reason other than I want to fly that high if it is legal. People freak out because they like to be in control of what they are responsible for. I'm flying that drone and I'm responsible for it. I don't want software to "allow" me to do anything. Technology is here to serve us not vice versa. The ire is fundamental.