Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Sign up

Creating 3D Models of Cell Towers With Evo 2

GunnerBAC

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Chicago, IL
Somebody told me that, because the Evo 2 has a rolling shutter, it cannot be used to map a cell tower because the photos will come out skewed. Does this have any truth to it? If so, is there any way around it by adjusting any settings like the frame rate or the shutter speed or maybe having the drone move slower?
 
Last edited:

RSands1

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
21
Age
66
Location
Western MA
Website
www.ricksandsdp.com
Somebody told me that, because the Evo 2 has a rolling shutter, it cannot be used to map a cell tower because the photos will come out skewed. Does this have any truth to it? If so, is there any way around it by adjusting any settings like the frame rate or the shutter speed or maybe having the drone move slower?
I did a 3D map of high voltage power-line towers with my evo2 6k. I've done other mapping as well. Both with 100% success. I've used 'stop-shoot-move to next position 'stop-shoot-move', etc and I've just kept the sUAV moving the entire time - all w/o issue.

Usually when shooting for technical applications such as mapping I keep a fast shutter and a deep f-stop.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GunnerBAC

GunnerBAC

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Chicago, IL
I did a 3D map of high voltage power-line towers with my evo2 6k. I've done other mapping as well. Both with 100% success. I've used 'stop-shoot-move to next position 'stop-shoot-move', etc and I've just kept the sUAV moving the entire time - all w/o issue.

Usually when shooting for technical applications such as mapping I keep a fast shutter and a deep f-stop.
Great! Is there a way to automate the stopping and shooting or do you do it all manually? Also, f-stop is aperture, right? And by "deep" do you mean increasing or decreasing the number?
 

RSands1

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
21
Age
66
Location
Western MA
Website
www.ricksandsdp.com
Great! Is there a way to automate the stopping and shooting or do you do it all manually? Also, f-stop is aperture, right? And by "deep" do you mean increasing or decreasing the number?
I've always shot manually so I stop then shoot then move on. You want a lot of depth-of-field so, yes, the f-stop needs to be at a higher #. I try to get higher than f8
 
  • Like
Reactions: GunnerBAC

GunnerBAC

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Location
Chicago, IL
I've always shot manually so I stop then shoot then move on. You want a lot of depth-of-field so, yes, the f-stop needs to be at a higher #. I try to get higher than f8
Cool! 3 more questions. What do you set your shutter speed to approximately? Do you use orbiting mode to make it easier? How long does it normally take you to map a tower using the stop and go tactic?
 

RSands1

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2020
Messages
21
Reaction score
21
Age
66
Location
Western MA
Website
www.ricksandsdp.com
My first mapping test flight I did orbit and didn't stop. The pix came out slightly soft because my exposure time was too slow. Lesson learned - depending on how far of a radius, I go 1/125 minimum. I've done the grid flight pattern w diagonal finishes. So far it has depended on the location.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GunnerBAC

jmason702

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2020
Messages
60
Reaction score
24
Age
43
you just want your shutter speed fast as possible, I have never had any issues mapping with the evo 2 pro
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
7,598
Messages
70,964
Members
5,521
Latest member
zavone