Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Aultel Evo 1 descended automatically into lake

GCW805FXR

Reaction score
I was flying my drone over Hume Lake to take video of lake to cabin. I’m no pro pilot but careful and know my limitations I think. When flying at 241’ above takeoff with 85% battery I pressed record over Lake. Right after I pressed and heading back over me to my buddies cabin I noticed altitude drop without pressing down. It dropped 100’ in 24 seconds. I tried to increase altitude as I was over the Lake and .6 miles to shore. Within 1 minute it went into lake. I captured coordinates and sent 1/2 vacation in row boat searching for my drone with no luck. My remote fully charged and battery was good at 80% on crash. I am green in technology but I educate myself with electronics especially this one as use for work as well. Had anyone had a sudden drop without control and should the sensors stopped it from going for a swim? This happened 2 days ago and pretty bummed out as loved the drone. Didn’t want it to ruin family vacation for wife and kids so addressing now when home and have good service. Thank you in advance.