Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Another Autel Explorer update - still no EVO 1 updates

False, at the end of a certain period the OS is blocked on the oldest phones. Try to put a version of Android above 5 on the Samsung S2 or Tab S2 and you will see. The obsolecence of a phone is also done by blocking the top version of android and preventing it from upgrading to the higher version.

Reactions: PingSpike
I'm relatively new to the Autel scene, but didn't the Evo 1 go end of life the moment the Evo 2 was announced? ?‍♂️

DJI normally end their product updates and support as soon each successive model is made available, are Autel different?

That isn’t true. DJI does not automatically EOL a product as soon as a new version of that product line comes out. You can still get support from DJI for a Mavic Air even though the Mavic Air 2 just came out a few months ago. You probably shouldn’t expect much in terms of updates for a 2+ yr old product from DJI, but you definitely should not expect it to be EOL!

False, at the end of a certain period the OS is blocked on the oldest phones. Try to put a version of Android above 5 on the Samsung S2 or Tab S2 and you will see. The obsolecence of a phone is also done by blocking the top version of android and preventing it from upgrading to the higher version.

Hmm.... I have (2) Samsung Tab S2's, (1 early model, (SM-T710) & 1 later model, (SM-T713) & both have Officially released Android 7, (Nougat) on them.

I'm talking about the S2 smartphone and the Tab S2 pro Tablet (SMT-320), both permanently locked on Android 5.
SMT-7xx are more recent but will not go further than Androïd 7, it is the last update. which ends the series.

We both know the SII, (S2) is almost 10 years old. They may be limited for OS updates as you said, but fail to have the horsepower or ram to deal with later versions of Android. That has to have some influence.