Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!

Steep mountainsides

minerrick

Reaction score
I am new to this whole thing, but I gotta tell you... every time I fly the Evo, I am really impressed by the engineering - very cool. So when i go out, I am not flying in a nice open field or park. I hike into incredibly steep and narrow canyons looking for historical remnants. I want the drone to fly the canyons to view the landscape. One thing I didn't think about before I hiked into the latest canyon was..... in a steep canyon, there are zero flat spots to take off from. On a 45 degree slope, what kind of DIY contraption do you use to create a level landing pad? I thought about it and I am going to use 1/2" pvc (without gluing the pieces so it can be taken apart) to build a frame with adustable legs on the downhill side. I will then get some 1/4" wood cut into 4" strips and duct tape the together (so they will roll up to fit in a pack)... and I am thinking of just bolting the wood to the frame (with bolts and wing nuts) and set some rocks on the legs for stability ... and theoretically, a stable and big (enough) landing pad. What do you guys use?

Reactions: KentA

KentA

Reaction score
I think you should research hand launching & retrieval.

There are videos available to teach technique but basically you grasp the bird from underneath. Takeoff is easy- I hold it firmly in my right hand & increase throttle gently with the left until it wants to pull away. Catching it requires only slightly more skill- I hover a few yards in front & slightly above head height. Then I walk over & grasp the quad firmly & shut it down with the other hand.

KentA

Reaction score
Well, I'm inexperienced with the Evo. I fly the X-Star with those nice long legs. I expect you will have different sensors to work around.

minerrick

Reaction score
Actually, this video says hand catching and launching is a problem: