Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

First commercial roof shoot. Looking for advise.

IDPdrones

Reaction score
As the title says this is my first paid shoot. I’m a newbie who comes from the construction world. I figured starting my drone business with roofs would be a plus for me since I’ve been on 100’s of roofs and am very familiar with construction.
There is a ton that goes into this. New invoices,checklist, charts etc. Add on the aspect of gimbal angles,speed,shutter speed video and photo’s I am a bit overwhelmed. Any words of advice would be great

I am flying evo 2 pro, and the nano plus.
Using apple products for flying and edits.

1. Forget the Nano+. Is not stable and you will have a low quality on such work. Keep Nano for other things....personal things.
2. Any video/photo of roof need at least 2 parts...One part is intro-presentation, second part is close-ups in video and photo.
I advice you to start with a Large Circle to see the whole building and surroundings, make a big circle with the building in middle, then at end of circle (you will use for circle OBRIT MODE) go with the video straight to building.
Next, start a close-up with a close circle around roof...then get on top of roof, using 45 degrees angle, slow motion...Next, make a pass-over roof with gimbal at 90 degrees, looking straight to roof. In some points stop the drone and make best quality pictures...this pictures you will insert in video, zooming each part of picture in order to see each part of roof....
If you see problems, make close-ups.
3. Use a mapping program...there are several, a few free. Use your Mission mode and map the roof. Make a GeoTIFF file, give to client with the free program to see GeoTiff's and make measures inside GeoTIFF, will appreciate it a lot to have this tool from you. Also the engineers that will make the repair can use it for making offers and checking the damage.