Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Almost lost my drone due to 15% force landing

Len

Reaction score
I've been flying my Evo II Pro for almost 2 years. I got so used to seeing battery percentage and never had a close call before today. I never let it get below 30%... Today I flew with smart controller for the first time. Without familiar battery percentage indicator (tiny icon doesn't count) and only guided by flight time I was surprised that it decided to return to home. I was coming back over the river (it was on the opposite bank) when I saw dreaded Battery Level Critical, Landing now. WTF Autel? My battery was at 15% at that time and it was more then enough to get back to me. Instead I almost had a heart attack guiding falling bird to the bank of the river. Luckily it just made it to the land not far from me and after short searching I found drone sitting on the ground... still at 13% battery. Is there any way to override this ridiculous limit? I understand landing at 5% but not at 15%...

"....when I saw dreaded Battery Level Critical, Landing now."

Sorry, did you say this was your first and only warning for that flight?

I actually did lose my drone to a tree because of that mode. I had plenty of battery to get back, but it took control and forced a landing.....into a tree. I had minimal control ie. could only control how fast it went down. I just needed another 10 feet to get over the branch but Autel would not allow me to make it go higher. I complainted to Autel saying that this mode is a huge issue. We are training Part 107 operators and when you take the control away from the operator like that, you get problems. They said it was a law requiring them to make the drone land at low battery.

If that is a law, I understand, but if I had control it would have turned out fine. Instead, since Autel would not repair it, I had to repair the gimbal, airframe, and arms myself.