Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Urban distance test. Heavy interference

With all due respect, drone video shot at 400' is uncompelling. Might as well use Google Earth. The video you linked is at roughly 400 feet over a heavily unoccupied industrial area, flying along the train tracks, when no one is around. The Mavic 2 can be flown over heavily residential areas at 50' AGL out to 5 miles at any time of the day or night with clear LOS. 5 Mhz is the lowest video quality transmission setting on the EVO which it requires for anything past 1.5 miles. You can dumb the video transmission quality down on the Mavic 2 as well, but it supports 1080p, so why would you want to? I have been flying DJI since 2015, and Autel since February this year with the EVO. If you have no experience with the latest DJI Occusync 2.0, present on the Mavic 2 since August 2018, which is a dual band 5.8Ghz and 2.4Ghz transmission, which switches seamlessly between channels and bands as necessary for rock steady FPV, you don't know what you are missing. EVO has no 5.8Ghz band. EVO is solely 2.4Ghz Wifi. EVO was supposed to to have a 900Mhz band to supplement the poor, plain 2.4Ghz wifi band, but it was stripped out of all the production models, but is still referenced in the owners manual, as being an available option. YMMV.
"Mavic 2 can be flown over heavily residential areas at 50' AGL out to 5 miles at any time of the day or night with clear LOS"
I am sorry but there is no way that will ever happen. I do not want to offend you but your not right.
Lets see the video. I watch them all the time and
I would really like to see you even go out 2 miles at that height in heavy interference. There is no way.
Even with extenders you cannot go out more than a mile with DJI and this person Mr Kent was at 200 feet.

Here is another video of the EVO going out 3 plus miles with alot of interference.

Last edited: