Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Filter question......

PRMath

Reaction score
if you shoot a video with no filter and all settings on auto..........
Then, if you put on an ND filter, would it be ok to continue shooting on Auto or go to manual mode

I am no expert on this but I just use auto when I have my filters on. If I was a little more knowledgeable on camera settings I might use manual but I am not sad to say.
Using auto settings I still get the video or picture that looks great. :)

Reactions: KentA
Using auto with filters on kinda defeats the purpose of the filters. However, it's difficult to determine which filter to use mathematically, because of the way the x stars camera is set up. I doesn't really tell you how much it's compensating.

The whole purpose of filters, is to shoot manual, using moderate settings on the camera for best results, to stay away from the auto compensation of the camera. These cameras do a great job, for the most part, in evenly lit mid day settings. Although, it is not a high quality professional camera...far from it. And in digital, there is no free lunch. In the old days, we controlled everything manually, and chose the film to match the setting. What film had the iso to match the light we were working with. Yes, you can set the iso of the x stars camera...but, with the quality of the sensor, you are limited. Also, when using auto camera settings, coupled with the limited quality of the sensor, you risk blown out highlights, and loss of detail in the shadows. This is why we use filters, and manual mode. We are still limited to evenly lit mid day to stay within the limits of the sensor, for really good looking media. Yes, we can pull off much more, but with it comes loss in quality...no free lunch.