Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Sign up

Do I need cell service

nscaler2

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
72
Does the starlink app need cell service to work? If not how does it get the map view?
 

AirmetTango

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
75
Reaction score
39
Location
Northwest OH
Website
www.clearskiesaerial.com
Does the starlink app need cell service to work? If not how does it get the map view?
Yes, you currently need to have either cell service or WiFi available to have Starlink display an accurate map view. I typically set up my cell phone as a hotspot to achieve a position for the map view, since I don't have cellular on my tablet.

It would be nice if there were an option to download maps at home for use later in the field for areas where you know cell coverage is an issue. But that is a lot further down on my own wish list than the fixes for several important control issues that are present in the ship.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
845
Reaction score
312
Location
Live! From New York!
@nscaler2

NO,
you do not need cell service to work. Go to the area you wish to save in map mode and pan around to be sure to get all of the area you need. The area you view in the app while caching will be saved for use in the field. I use an iPad mini cellular but I have no cellular plan on it. I look at the maps ahead of time for the area I want to fly while on wifi.

Here is the link to Autels approved devices - What devices are compatible with the Starlink app? | Autel Robotics


 

Glazier

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
22
Age
56
Location
Baltimore Md
@nscaler2

NO,
you do not need cell service to work. Go to the area you wish to save in map mode and pan around to be sure to get all of the area you need. The area you view in the app while caching will be saved for use in the field. I use an iPad mini cellular but I have no cellular plan on it. I look at the maps ahead of time for the area I want to fly while on wifi.

Here is the link to Autels approved devices - What devices are compatible with the Starlink app? | Autel Robotics


Yeah that works, but don't reopen the app till you get to where you saved the map or it will be lost. If you reopen it with a wifi signal it will pick up that area. So once you save it shut down and go to where you saved the map Right?
 

inkdrop

Active Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
8
Age
49
Good to know. I had no clue this needed cell service

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

Russty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
45
Reaction score
29
Age
29
Good to know. I had no clue this needed cell service

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
You only need cell service to use the map feature. You dont need cell service if you want to just fly not using a map.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 577-Jersey

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
4,176
Messages
39,825
Members
2,624
Latest member
DroneHome