Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Work Flow, Choosing music first then editing to it.

Props McGavin

Reaction score
Website
youtu.be
Hi all,

Im new to droning and editing and have found the best way for to me to piece together a video is to start with the music first. Obviously I shoot all the footage first and choose a something that I think will work. Ive found it gives me a story line to structure my editing from if that makes sense. Does anyone else do this?

Wondering how you each go about editing with music.

Cheers

Richard

You are definitely on the right track. No pun intended.
I started doing videos in 1989 and have purchased a lot of Buy Out Music as well as gleaned what I could from the Internet in the public domain. I've listened to every track dozens to even a hundred times over the years and often that process itself will help me build a story line before I even go out on a shoot. Sometimes a particular music track will even determine how I want to shoot some scenes for matching the music or establishing the perfect transition timing.

Music can make or break a production. Yet it is often the last thing a beginning videographer/editor considers when putting together his or her work flow and shot list. I have often booted iTunes and hit the first song on my library playlist and let it run through everything I have while I'm doing other work on the computer. And magically a particular piece that seemed to have potential suddenly strikes me as an appropriate track for something new I had in mind. Write it down quick; those fleeting moments disappear fast.