Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

New in San Diego

FDS Pilot

Reaction score
Hello to the group ? I'm somewhat new to flying drones but not new to flying or remote piloting.
I have been a part 61 Private Pilot since 1999 and currently am checked out in 7 different types of aircraft. I have built and flown various r/c model aircraft including helicopters since I was a kid but never had live view until I flew my buddies Mavic. I instantaneously knew that I was hooked on flying drones.
After owning a no name quad rotor drone for a little more than a year, with a few crashes and even weed whacking a few times, I decided it was time to move up to a quality 4K drone. Although all my flying has been on my no name and buddies Mavic (he kept telling me all other drones sucked compared to DJI) my research brought me to the EVO.
I attended Commercial Drone Expo 2019 this week in Las Vegas and saw some incredible aircraft. Autel had a large booth with an EVO flying in a cage so I stopped and talked to Brian about the comparison between the Mavic 2 Zoom and the EVO.
In the end the EVO was the better choice because I get to make all the airspace decisions and am not controlled by the company who built my drone.
I am currently studying for adding part 107 to my pilots toolbox and seeing where my addiction to drones leads me.
My EVO Rugged Bundle will be here next week and I'll check back in with first flight impressions.
JB

Welcome to the Forum. I think you will enjoy your membership. There are many other members happy to provide assistance for any issues you may have, and those that may need information you bring. A lot of good information is already stored in existing threads.

Couple easy things:
1.) The search Icon is your friend. It's the magnifying glass near the upper right of the screen when you scroll all the way up. It can find many answers you will never find by yourself.