Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Hello from Pittsburgh, PA

SnagsWolf

Reaction score
Pittsburgh is Steeler Country, but I'm more of a Penguin (hockey) fan. Was into model rocketry when I was younger, but I've been flying drones for a few years now. Started with a Syma helicopter, and moved up to the Syma X11 and Syma X8. First day I flew my X8 I got it stuck up in the top of a very tall tree. Tried everything to get it down, but it sat up there for 3 weeks. That's when my brother-in-law, who is on our town's city council, asked the fire department to help me out. They rolled up in their ladder truck and plucked it from the tree. It worked just fine, despite sitting exposed during a few thunderstorms.

Learned my lesson, and took it slow from that point. Used the X8 to take videos, but the quality was really lacking, between the poor quality camera, no gimbal, and all that jelly. Someday, I thought, I'll get a serious drone.

That day is now. Been researching for the past six months, trying to find the right drone. Started out coveting a Phantom, then considered a Mavic. But as I watched and waited, DJI's geo-fencing just turned me off. If it just kept you from flying where you shouldn't, I wouldn't have that much of a problem with it. But it seems they go way beyond that. And I saw first-hand how their customer support treated people. Enough people were raving about the Evo, so I decided it was time.

Looking forward to using the new drone, and making some quality video. They're building a new section of the PA Turnpike near my house, so I'm hoping to get some nice aerial shots of the progress. And there's the trip to Longboat Key Florida next month, so I'm expecting a chance for some spectacular beach and water shots. Might even start a Youtube channel.

A bit nervous about having a $1,000 bird in the air, but then again, I was nervous about having the $80 X8 in the air.