Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Flying from a boat -

AirHuna

Reaction score
Any body else flying regularly from a boat over the ocean.

I have so much footage that i haven't got to, but here some test stuff as I am still learning.

I've only had my XSP since January but most of my flying is from our boat. Was a little scary at first but after just under 200 flights I have become "cautiously comfortable" with the process. Dont hear to many people talking about it and there wasnt to much info on it when I started. Learned and got some experience on land but the main reason i got the XSP was to film/fly from the boat.

So far... I have only had a couple of white knuckle moments mostly do to wind restrictions and trying to push when to fly.

After 6 months and what i think is a fair amount of my type of flying, here are some highlights from my experience with Autel and the XSP for anybody thinking along the same lines as the way I use it.

I have used the Nvidia Shield tablet from the start and have 6 batteries set up with 2 chargers. I have Eachine Goggles Two / 1080 which i use when the conditions are right.

1. Amazing bird with a great camera but I'm new to drones and not a photographer. I'm a boat guy. :)
  2. I have had lots of conversations with Autel Support and well... They are great!
  3. I am on my 3rd bird because of developing motor mount cracks on the first 2 which concerns me, but seems like that happens. I explained to Autel in detail the way I use it and they didnt see anything that I was doing that might cause the cracks. Each time Autel has replaced the bird no problem and the second time actually got to me overnight cause we were leaving the next day for the Islands. I did however have to pay the shipping.

---

1. In the Bahamas over the open water, much over 12-14kts of wind and it gets pretty hairy. I almost always set up my flights in to the wind unless its flat calm.