Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

DJI pilot looking at EVO

MPdroner

Reaction score
Website
instagram.com
Hello all,

New to EVO and this forum. Looks like a fine group. I have been flying DJI and Yuneec drones for almost 3 years now. Have over 400 flights and 150 hours in them combined. I favor the Mavic and have most of my time in that model.

This past week I was given an EVO for testing and evaluation. I must say I was pleasantly surprised and found it a great little machine to fly. I had put about 2 hours on the EVO when I decided to test the Ludicrous mode. Obviously I did not have the skills to complete that maneuver. I kind of knew there might be some altitude loss (Mavic suffers from this .... small amount). So before I attempted the L-mode i made sure I had 25-30 foot clearance of the trees I would be flying over. So I blasted off and after a few seconds (flying visually) I noticed the EVO seemed to be losing altitude. I made the cardinal mistake of keeping my stick forward while evaluating what was going on. One look down and a quick look up and it was over. EVO and a tree had become close friends. Heartbreaking...my first crash in two years. And a new drone to boot. Lesson learned about L-mode.

Just because I was curious I checked the data on my ill fated flight. The flight lasted 7seconds, covered 110 meters and lost over 9 meters of altitude. It was a warm day with less than 3 knots of wind. I have attached the specifics of the flight to this note.