Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Looks like The US of A is going to be harder to find places to fly legally

Soon, nobody will care about obstacle avoidance — effective countermeasures will be the next big thing!

Government Relations | Academy of Model Aeronautics

Ya all better study for your exam :)

• The bill removes the model aircraft definition and lumps all hobbyists, toys, and the recreational community under the FAA as simply unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).
  • There are testing mandates, which raises many concerns. Federal and state regulations could hinder youth from participating in the testing requirement therefore denying them enjoyment of our hobby.
What gets me I have been posting about what is coming for the last 6 or 7 months and still there where guys saying it will never happen and if it did it will take the government 5 years to make the changes. Well guess what guys it is on your back door.

Reactions: HiloHawaiian
Wait, I thought our savior in the White House was getting rid of burdensome regulations?

It may seem like an overreach to us, but having worked with DoD contractors for decades, their prospective is very different. This is being pushed by DoD & Homeland Security. Boeing, Lockheed, Raytheon & Northup all have classified work in this arena — both offensive and defensive. Micro surveillance drones, hunter killers, and drone zappers. Homeland Security thinks it’s only a matter of time before drones are used for domestic terrorism.

Note every time an illegal drone overflies an airport’s perimeter, or other restricted area. The FAA & Homeland notes them all, using it as justification for a clampdown. Looks like they made their case...