Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

LAST DAY to comment on FAA Remote ID proposal - direct link

CactusJackSlade

Reaction score
If you have not done so, PLEASE make a comment. Be courteous, explain your concern, offer a solution or idea. We have until 11:59 pm tonight (I'm assuming EST)

Just complaining will do nothing. This is what I wrote, some may or may not agree with what I've said, but it might help some with a comment, feel free to cut/past/chop/hack.... just please send them a comment!

HERE is the direct link to the comment page.

Hello FAA,

I would like to take this opportunity to share my thoughts on this "aggressive" Remote ID proposal. I have been flying R/C aircraft for over 40 years and currently hold my 107 certificate.

It is the current impression of the R/C community that the FAA is giving way to the big players in the industry (future delivery/taxi services) without proper consideration to the masses of the general public and this proposal is way out of bounds and over reaching of our government.

My main concern is for recreational/hobbyist pilots. I am not sure that the FAA has a full understanding of the numbers of "back yard flyers" that fly every day in low key areas and have done so for 40+ years. Of all the pilots know, only about 25% of them belong to the AMA and of those only about half even fly at AMA designated fields. The number of pilots that fly "at the local hill" for instance is, I feel, a lot more numerous that the FAA is aware. If it suddenly becomes illegal to fly anywhere but an AMA field (without a transponder of some kind) this will devastate the R/C community and render all previous aircraft illegal to fly.