Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Is this a CBO Recreational application of a drone?

WilsonLR

Reaction score
I am currently a TRUST pilot after configuring and testing an EVO II back in Nov 2021 for a NGO doing geo-mapping outside the US. I liked that drone. Having been away from drones since then, I'm reading and reading trying to come up to speed on current regulations for a new application. This was helpful: FAA Part 107 - Operations Over People January 2022 USA

The organization for a new project is a registered non-profit blog 100% self funded and run 100% by volunteers. There are thousands of subscribers and followers. We blog on quality of life issues in our small city. One of the issues is bike safety. We'd like to take current photos of various intersections/roads in order to analyze and report on how to navigate them safely and identify problems. So in drone parlance, these would be transitory flights over streets, vehicles and pedestrians.

1) Is this a recreational application as a Community Based Organization?
2) Which OOP Category is a Nano + with blade guards?
3) Is an EVO Lite with guards a better choice?

A CBO would not be your organization by the information you have given, it would be a drone or model aircraft type organization that has guidelines governing safe flight.
In my opinion, this would be a Part 107 operation.
All of the blade guards I have seen do not meet the requirements, unless you have something I have not seeen before.
Your guards cannot have your aircraft exceed the 250 gram threshold and with the Evo Nano being 249 grams, this will not work without trimming weight off of the drone.
The Evo Lite is well over the weight limit.
If your flight has to go over the loosley defined open air assembly of people, then you must have Remote ID (which is not yet in effect) so you have that to consider also.

Reactions: gschulzuio
Big Al sums up the OOP rules rather nicely in this thread.