Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Wind speeds

Reaction score
Thanx AutelPilots for the add. Newbie Autel Evo here, and I will be operating down here in the windward and leeward islands of the Caribbean. I've been looking for any posts or safety precautions about wind speeds. What sort of wind speed would be considered as a no go for flying the Evo? Also has anyone been caught flying their drone and it got caught in a rain squall? Did it survive if so?

I think the answer depends on the pilot. As a novice, I won't usually take off if the wind is above 15mph. But a capable/focused pilot should be fine in winds up to 30mph I think - and I have seen remarkably smooth footage shot in a 40mph wind.

You do need to check the wind speed at the height you plan to fly at as it is typically a lot stronger than it is at ground level. I use a great app called UAV Forecast.

Welcome! XSP continues to amaze. Weather in AZ has been windy/rainy awful for 2 weeks. Bored, I flew w/30 mph winds yesterday. Went-up 1500’ over a mountain, winds noticeably stronger up there. While it flew just fine, if wobbly — the video was rock-solid which amazed me. I was so miserable with the wind chill being 20-25F I landed and ran to the car. :(.

I think it will snow in this week, I miss Hawaii...