Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

"Relative Altitude" setting on the Area Route configuration bar?

SandCop

Reaction score
I am new to Autel and the Evo II. I've been flying DJI P4A for several years in and around forest fires (as part of the firefighting operation). I Finally got tired of fighting with geo fencing and bought an Evo II Pro. I just updated the Explorer App to 1.18.13. I now see on the Area Route Configuration bar a choice for a grid mission which I will use on mapping missions. Also new is a "relative altitude" setting (or I just never noticed it before). I can not find anything on line at Autel's web site or any of the forums. Could someone please point me to an explanation of this feature. Is this Autel's take on terrain awareness a la MapPilot?

Thanks

Gary

My understanding is that it's the relative altitude to Home, not to the ground during flight.

I fail to see how that is any different than the altitude I've set for the mission; unless the altitude setting for the mission is terrain following, which I doubt. This needs clarification from Autel! I'm not about to use a setting when I have no idea what it's supposed to do.

Thanks,

Gary

Reactions: JD Simpson
Agreed, they need to document more. It was a setting that showed up in a prior update with no info about. Even the pop-up isn't well written. Clicking the ? to the side of shows a pop-up stating:

"Set the altitude of the shooting environment relative to the takeoff point.Take off in a safe area"

I wouldn't test except for in an open field but it seems that the Altitude is the takeoff altitude. Relative Altitude is used for the actual mission path. So my guess is that a mission would:

Take off to Altitude
Fly to mission Start
Set altitude to Relative Altitude
Fly mission to End
Set altitude to Altitude
Fly Home

I can't test because of weather and snow everywhere but that's my guess anyway.