Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Precision Landing

Malli35998

Reaction score
Website
www.raptoraerialservices.com
I am new to Autel. Flying DJI drones (P3P, P4P, Inspire 2s, and M210) since 2015. I recently purchased an Evo II 6K Pro V2 drone. I have been flying test missions it for about a week. So far I am very impressed with the drone. I am finding lack of detailed documentation on specific features and rely on other sources to get answers. One of the features that I am impressed with is the “Precision Landing”. I am using a 3ft diameter HoodmanUSA launch pad. So far I have made 18 flights with the drone landing somewhere on the 3ft landing pad, generally pretty close to the center. My question is, does drone switch from GPS to the Downward Vision System to locate itself so accurately? Any info on how this process works would greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Reactions: davery87
My question is, does drone switch from GPS to the Downward Vision System to locate itself so accurately?
During take off the drone saves several template images from downward camera(s) and then uses them to find right place for landing. All you need for this are:
- clean lenses of obstacle avoidance cameras;
- good lighting conditions;
- well textured surface (landing pad)
- calm (automatic) take off. I'm not sure the template images would be good quality if we give maximum thrust/pitch/yaw from the start :)

Reactions: AirStag