Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

New EVO 2 Pro 6K Owner Here - Professional Videographer / Photographer

herein2021

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I just ordered my EVO II Pro 6K drone after using DJI's products since 2014. Two weeks ago my DJI Mavic Pro in the middle of a flight suddenly decided it was in a no fly zone and forced auto landing right in the middle of the ocean. Previous to this I had flown over a thousand hours without incident on various DJI drones over the years; but after an incident like that its impossible for me to ever trust DJI again. I am a professional videographer and photographer who uses drones to supplement my ground video and photography work on a nearly daily basis and I was very fortunate that it did this over the ocean and not over people, cars, or an expensive property.

I am a part 107 licensed pilot, I obtain LAANC permission whenever needed for the airspace I will fly in, and have created aerial drone video and photography content for everything from promo videos to weddings to music videos, large events, and more. So I signed up here to see what I have gotten myself into with this new drone ecosystem and am already concerned about the battery issues, stability issues, and other problems that I see reported on this forum not to mention the common theme which seems to be a complete lack of support from Autel. It looks like I will need to do a lot of testing before I use the EVO on a professional job, in the meantime my DJI P4 Pro is still the best drone I have owned to date just not as portable as the Mavic Pro was.

If I ever trust the EVO 2 enough to use it on professional shoots I am definitely looking forward to working with the 10bit footage, LOG profile and 4K60FPS which are all things the Mavic Pro did not have. I will admit, the completely hideous orange shell really made me think twice about getting one, but DJI and Autel are the only options available for now.