Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Incident - Discussed with FAA

67A1F

Reaction score
I am relatively new to drones, flying about six months and am trying to learn everything I can to fly safely and stay out of trouble.

I'm making this post to inform others of the rule concerning the lack of a minimum altitude for helicopters.

I just assumed that helicopters were held to the same standards as fixed will aircraft. I was wrong ?.

Sorry if I am the only person on the planet that didn't know this reg. just wanted to put the information out their for others like myself.

I called to report the incident I'm describing, it occurred on the 20th of Feb.

FAA representative returned a call to me this morning regarding an incident that occurred last week while flying my EVO in the area of my residence.

What happened: Flying to see the sunset and make a visual check of my neighbors property (snowbirds).

Returned to home decending from max altitude to approximately 70 ft to clear power lines to enter my property.

Suddenly from the SW a military Chinook helicopter flying low level at approximately 250 to 300 feet and 125 knots enters the airspace I had just left about 10 to 15 seconds earlier.

This could have ended badly. Personally I believe this is a hole in the regulations that allows for potential deadly incidents.

So, here is the FAA rule. Pay attention to Para (d) (1) and (2)

Sec. 91.119

Minimum safe altitudes: General.

Except when necessary for takeoff or landing, no person may operate an aircraft below the following altitudes:
(a) Anywhere. An altitude allowing, if a power unit fails, an emergency landing without undue hazard to persons or property on the surface.
(b) Over congested areas. Over any congested area of a city, town, or settlement, or over any open air assembly of persons, an altitude of 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle within a horizontal radius of 2,000 feet of the aircraft.