Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

How is the Evo 2 Pro at close up focus?

Sherifftruman

Reaction score
So, I’ve been a DJI user for the last 4 years or so. With a Mavic Air, and an Air 2. I’m a home inspector and my needs are primarily taking photos, and need to get pretty close to things. I rarely take video and don’t fly far away. Most of the time, I can easily hear the drone, much less see it.

I’m looking to possibly change away from DJI. I have a need to fly down close to a roof and take photos of things and hopefully read date codes off plumbing vent boots. One issue I’m having with the Air2 is with the smaller sensor and the pixel binning tricks it does to get the “20 MP” number, I can’t always read the date codes unless the lighting was good, cloudy days could be a challenge.

So, I’ve been looking at Autel line. I like the larger sensor of the Evo 2 Pro (and it seems like maybe the same sensor is on the Lite+) . However looking in the specs it shows a 1 meter focus distance compared to the Evo 2, which is 0.5 meter. But, since the sensor is running at native resolution when taking photos, I’m wondering if it would still be good.

Might go with the Evo Pro 2 over the Lite+ just for the ability to potential to add an IR camera or do control flight if I ever get into that, but it’s not a primary need.

What’s the real life focus like on these cameras? How are the controls for manual focus? Can I tap a spot or manually adjust it?

Here’s a photo and a crop to see what I’m talking about. A39DAA65-390F-438D-BC32-47F3E4481B24.png57C640C9-AC6F-4ECA-8CAE-BC1D8BEBCD87.png

So, I’ve been a DJI user for the last 4 years or so. With a Mavic Air, and an Air 2. I’m a home inspector and my needs are primarily taking photos, and need to get pretty close to things. I rarely take video and don’t fly far away. Most of the time, I can easily hear the drone, much less see it.