Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Sign up

Gimbal pins: Use 2, or 4?

Dave52

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
68
Searched "gimbal pins", nothing turned up. Hope this isn't a beaten to death topic already.

Watching a couple videos I noticed there were gimbal pins on all 4 corners. Mine came with 2 installed on opposite corners, and 2 spares. Am I ok flying it with just the 2 pins installed?

(Maybe I should have posted this under "Help")
 

GA-XSP-Pilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2017
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Location
Acworth, GA
I asked Autel about that, they said the other 2 were "extras"...so I'm guessing just the 2 that were installed from the factory. Has anyone else heard different?
 

dman

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
17
Reaction score
7
Age
70
Location
North Carolina
I asked Autel about that, they said the other 2 were "extras"...so I'm guessing just the 2 that were installed from the factory. Has anyone else heard different?
No different but mine came with 2 installed and 2 extras. My son has a P3S and it has only 2 installed.
 

Dave52

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
68
My main concern would be camera being tilted slightly or something by using just 2 pins. I guess I'll find out...
 

GA-XSP-Pilot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2017
Messages
118
Reaction score
35
Location
Acworth, GA
You can adjust the gimbal tilt in the Starlink settings screen. I calibrated mine by sitting the drone on a square table (aligned properly of course), and using the edge of the table as a reference. This is easier if you turn the grid lines on in the display.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dave52

Agustine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
6,825
Reaction score
5,228
Age
63
Location
Northern Ontario
Do yourself a favor and get some thin electrical ties. And run 2 of them through th 2 holes that are not being used. Those gimbal pins don't do poop in crash. Last thing you want is the wires to get ripped out between the 2 floating halfs of the gimbal. I'm talking from experience. Just tighten them enough so the vibration balls still do what they are suppose to do.

20170127_143526.jpg
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
844
Reaction score
314
Location
Live! From New York!
I also use zip ties but not nearly as tight as the photo above. You need to leave some sick so it doesn't interfere with the gimbal action. The rubber vibration mounts stretch a small amount, if they are to tight it will affect that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dman

Agustine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
6,825
Reaction score
5,228
Age
63
Location
Northern Ontario
So far mine has no ill effect on video being where they are tightened to. Lots of play in them for the vibration balls to do there thing :)
 

Dave52

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
68
With the help of that photo:
  • Zip Ties: Check.
  • Figure out how to reinstall that crazy gimbal holder: Check
 
  • Like
Reactions: dman

Borrowedtime

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
67
Mine came with 2 installed but I didn't realize it until about my 2nd or 3rd flight. I went ahead and put the other 2 in and I can't tell the difference between 2 or 4.
 

Barry

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
8
Age
41
Do yourself a favor and get some thin electrical ties. And run 2 of them through th 2 holes that are not being used. Those gimbal pins don't do poop in crash. Last thing you want is the wires to get ripped out between the 2 floating halfs of the gimbal. I'm talking from experience. Just tighten them enough so the vibration balls still do what they are suppose to do.

View attachment 237
Clever Idea!
 

Agustine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
6,825
Reaction score
5,228
Age
63
Location
Northern Ontario
Clever Idea!

LOL
Wish I could take credit to this idea but its been around for ever at least 3 years that I know of.
It saved my Yuneec CGO3 camera twice. Broken gimbal mount but that was a cheap price to pay compared to ripped out wires and sending the camera back for repair. :)
 

JMV

Active Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2016
Messages
35
Reaction score
22
Location
Sydney Australia
Hi All. I don't care what the manufacturers say I always install 4 pins on Yuneec, Phantom, X star all of them, with experience it's the best way.
It has Nil effect on camera movement except when you hit something it saves the camera 2 is not enough.
cheers
 

Flyhi

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Age
35
I thought this was a mistake and were missing from the factory. Even sent an email to autel CS to inquire but have not heard back. Used the two spares from the repair kit. All my video has been excellent to date. Might be able to get away with using just 2 gimbal pins but am happy with my current set-up.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk
 

slimjimtell

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
122
Reaction score
63
Age
51
I too questioned the 2 pins, I contacted Autel, got them on the phone quickly. They said only 2 are needed.
 

Agustine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
6,825
Reaction score
5,228
Age
63
Location
Northern Ontario
I can only tell you what I have seen and experienced over the last 3 years. You get a hard enough bounce or even a light crash those two pins will not hold the 2 halfs together. I have seen many separated gimbal pictures from different cameras. The Yuneec typhoon H is one good example. It being a 360 degree gimbal and those wires get pulled out is a very costly fix. Wires are one thing, now the little plastic connectors soldered onto the boards the the wires plug into get ripped off you might as well buy a new camera unless your good at micro soldering. Not many people in the world can do it but if you ever need someone this lady has fixed one of my camera boards. Cost me 120 US bucks but saved me 400 US bucks in the end.

Home | iPad Rehab
 

Flyhi

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Age
35
Thx for the info I had not heard back from them on this question. I do have to scratch my head 4 holes...2pins...hmmmmm.
 

Flyhi

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Age
35
I can only tell you what I have seen and experienced over the last 3 years. You get a hard enough bounce or even a light crash those two pins will not hold the 2 halfs together. I have seen many separated gimbal pictures from different cameras. The Yuneec typhoon H is one good example. It being a 360 degree gimbal and those wires get pulled out is a very costly fix. Wires are one thing, now the little plastic connectors soldered onto the boards the the wires plug into get ripped off you might as well buy a new camera unless your good at micro soldering. Not many people in the world can do it but if you ever need someone this lady has fixed one of my camera boards. Cost me 120 US bucks but saved me 400 US bucks in the end.

Home | iPad Rehab
FWIW, I see that Autel does provide a new connector in their repair kit. From what I have read this is one of the very few repair parts you can get from them.
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
7,141
Messages
66,059
Members
4,907
Latest member
Siblueg