Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Flying in the rain?

BenDisinger

Reaction score
I’m curious to learn if anybody here flies their Evo II when it’s raining. I’m new to drones and I’m not sure if it’s smart to fly when there is precipitation. The Evo has been great in the wind, but I usually bring it down if there are any sprinkles. Am I being too cautious?

Reactions: Wghayek
I’m curious to learn if anybody here flies their Evo II when it’s raining. I’m new to drones and I’m not sure if it’s smart to fly when there is precipitation. The Evo has been great in the wind, but I usually bring it down if there are any sprinkles. Am I being too cautious?
Your drone is covered in air vents that not only let cool air in, but also water.

Your drone is not waterproof.

Don't do it.

Not even close to worth it, Not only will you almost certainly lose the drone...but the footage won't even be worth filming. Drone cameras cannot see rain drops and all you will film is dark gray skies unless it is really pouring down at which point you will lose the drone faster. Snow is a different story but that's still risking the drone.

The EVO 2 is a beast in the Rain if you have the Wet Suit which Protects the Battery and the Power Button.
Most People ,, just talk from Fear Based dogma , the Same as was once on the DJI forum but now after thousands of Wet Suits sold , not so much... :) Were talking Mavic 2 :pPhantom 3 / 4 : AIR 2 : AIR 2S: even the Mini 2 and Mavic Pro can now all fly in the pouring Rain. One thing you can notice right away in the DJI forum are those flying in the storm to capture it... as many have the Wet Suits.

For instance most do not know that The Motors on the EVO 2 are Aluminum Brush less motors designed to negotiate water so well that these are the same Motors used in Submersible Drones.