Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Battery charge level

Peter Goldwing

Reaction score
I tried finding the answer but couldn't.
Based on number of lights displayed by the battery, where is best to keep it for short term storage (like I wont use the drone for a week or two)

The sweet spot is 2 solid lights to 2 solid and the third blinking.
So just to clarify, If you just flew and the battery is around 20% but don't plan on flying again for maybe a week or so you should put the battery on the charger and then take it off at around 50% or charge it up fully and let it self regulate down to the 50% mark if you don't fly for let's say 2 weeks?

I've been flying rc electrics for a quite a few years, and have always been a little ocd with my lipo batteries. I usually charge up or discharge down to the recommended "storage" voltage of about 3.85v per cell when I'm done flying. I'm the same way with my EVO II batteries (especially at $200 a pop). If I had a battery at 20%, I'd charge it to around 50%. The only time I would charge to full is if I was certain I was going to be flying within a day or two. That's just me though.

Reactions: Jagerbomb52
I've been flying rc electrics for a quite a few years, and have always been a little ocd with my lipo batteries. I usually charge up or discharge down to the recommended "storage" voltage of about 3.85v per cell when I'm done flying. I'm the same way with my EVO II batteries (especially at $200 a pop). If I had a battery at 20%, I'd charge it to around 50%. The only time I would charge to full is if I was certain I was going to be flying within a day or two. That's just me though.
Sound advice. Something I have been doing for years. I still have batteries from my Yuneec Q500 drone that will give me 17-19 minutes of flight time. Normal is around 22 minutes. Those batteries are over 5 years old now.